A rather somber meeting for July 1

The July 1, 2009, meeting of the Orlando Area Writers Group (Florida Writers Association) will be a planning meeting with several important decisions on the table.

First of all, I am forcing myself to step down as group leader. Primarily, I am finding myself involved in too many floundering but promising business opportunities; I am also helping to organize and reinvigorate a few other organizations, as well. With those adventures taking up ten to twelve hours a day seven days a week, I no longer feel I have the appropriate amount of time to devote to this group. Under the right circumstances, I am willing to stay involved (if the new leadership so desires), but bring all your options, resolutions, solutions, and other ideas to be discussed.

Related to that order of business is the direction that we want the group to take. As those of you who have been around for a while know, our group has traditionally been more of a “presentation” and sharing and networking sort of group more than it has been a discussion-oriented or critique-type group. A couple of variations for possible new efforts are floating among some of the regular members, however, so bring your suggestions for that discussion, too. Your influence is important in determining how relevant and useful the group will be to your needs.

The last item on the agenda will be a discussion about shopping for and securing a future meeting site.

Anyone who cannot make the meeting is invited to e-mail their comments and opportunities to me at the address below. I’ll be sure to present them in your stead. I hope most of you can make the meeting, though.

That Wednesday meeting will take place from 6:30 to 8:30 PM at the University Club of Winter Park, which is located at 841 Park Avenue North, on the northwest corner of Park and Webster Avenue. As always, our meetings are free and open to the public. For additional information, visit the group blog at http://www.fwa-orlando.org or contact Stephen Evans, group leader, at ImYourEditor@hotmail.com or 407-898-4299.

June 24, 2009. Announcements, Meetings Information.

